Auto Update or Not? WordPress auto-updates or MainWP auto-updates?

Hi,
I am just getting started with MainWP. I’ve gotten to the point where I am managing enough sites that it became a real pain to manually update every site when new plugin versions are available. Before I found MainWP, I enabled automatic updates (the builtin WordPress feature) for most of my sites. I still knew I wanted to verify that the updates didn’t break anything, but I found that it was easier just to verify than to manually update and then verify.

My question for the community: does anyone else use auto updates or do you click the update button manually? Is there a preference to use the WordPress “enable automatic updates” or the MainWP “Auto Updates”? I’m inclined to think that MainWP could give me more control and structure for automatically performing updates, but I’m not sure what method is going to be the easiest to use on a day-to-day basis.

Thanks for your advice.

1 Like

I always disable auto-updates, because I want to read the changelog before updating, decide if I need to hold an update, because of changes with big impact on the child sites and I want to be certain that I’m available to troubleshoot after an update if necessary.

In my opinion auto-updates should only be used for non-critical websites that have no scheduled maintenance, like test, development or demo sites.

1 Like

Hello @kgourlay,

Like @josklever mentioned, we also turned off auto-updates because we want 100% control when those updates are done. In our case (managing +150 websites), we are doing the maintenance over the weekend. We have some rules in place regarding specific plugins or themes like DIVI, we wait at least 2 weeks before updating the same for WP core. For minor updates, we click the little button update all and for major, we read the log file to see the changes see if there is big impact.