ClassicPress Support

Hi.

Is support for ClassicPress on the roadmap for MainWP?

I am a Pro customer and am in the process of migrating most of my sites from WordPress over to ClassicPress. I would love to continue to manage the sites with MainWP.

I can manage them – somewhat – today, and that’s because ClassicPress is still pretty much compatible with WordPress (except obviously the core) but in the not too distant future as ClassicPress matures, it’s codebase will begin to diverge from WordPress’ more and more and there will come a time where the plugin architecture will not be compatible.

I’d like to know if MainWP has any support planned for ClassicPress going forward.

I found an old thread stating that Dennis would look into it once MainWP v4 has been released. But that was back in 2019.

Thanks.

2 Likes

All joking aside, I actually haven’t thought of it in a while. I’ll need to look at their roadmap and overall adoption rate before I can even think about pulling resources over to a new CMS

4 Likes

As long as MainWP supports WordPress 4.9, there should be no issues using ClassicPress 1.x. That’s the long-term support version that’s a drop-in replacement for WP 4.9. There will be no breaking changes. So it shouldn’t be a “new CMS” to support. It will be supported for as long as the community needs it.

Breaking changes will be introduced in version 2.0, starting with a ClassicPress plugin/theme directory integration. It’s currently in beta.

ClassicPress turns 3 this month. There’s an anniversary blog post that discusses what’s been done over the past 3 years and what the roadmap is for the near future. It’s a good overview.

Usage stats haven’t been publicly released yet, but it is coming soon. Everyone is curious to see them.

4 Likes

@v1ktor Thanks for jumping in with the additional information.