This is a strange behavior. I have disabled the setting “Check if a backup is required before update”
Anyways, sometimes, not always, when clicking on a single update button a popup appears that still CHECKS if a backup is required! This takes minutes and is totally something that should not be checked if this setting is disabled globally since there is not even a single site option that could override this.
Please disable this popup and the check if we have globally disabled the check for a backup before updates!
tl;dr: If we disable the check if backups are required, update right away. If we wanted backups we would never disable that option in the first place.